Serampore Girls' College

13, T.C. Goswami Street, Serampore, Hooghly - 712201, West Bengal, India

Established in 1981, Affiliated to the University of Calcutta

AISHE Code - C11984

Department of Political Science


About the Department

The Department of Political Science of Serampore Girls College (university of Calcutta) was formed in 1981 intially admitting students in pass course. And subsequently in 1996 the Honours course was also provided to students hailing from varied economic and educational backgrounds to make them economically and intellectually empowered.

The Department currently consists of 4 teachers having expertise on various subjects such as Indian Politics, International Affairs, Public Policy , Public Adminsitration and Current Trends in India. The teacher and student interaction is extremely vibrant and active over the period of time. The Department in engages in various activities beyond academics such as Youth Parliament, Awareness Programs, Student Excursions and others. In Serampore Girls College, Netaji Bhavan (NB) 17 is the designated ICT classroom for conducting various academic activities and co-curricular equipped with a projector and white board facility. 

Programmes Offered

Curriculum & Credit Framework (CCF) (UG) CBCS (Former) Discontinued From 2023
Major & Multi-Disciplinary Honours & General